Precious.

17 09 2009

Sometimes, you get a day where some things just don’t matter. The almost-constant distractions from administrators. The whining and tattling from my students. The getting up early and staying after school late routine. The frustration you feel when your students act out or just don’t listen hard enough or focus long enough to get a lesson. All of that melts away when…

  1. You tend to two crying kids: one who was so upset that he forgot his homework folder and another one who cried about a “I’m gonna tell on the teacher who you like” situation. The fact that I operate in a classroom where over 95% of the kids not only do their homework, but want to do their homework so bad that they would cry about it is a blessing. I also enjoy dealing with silly crying situations… my patience and compassion works well there.

  2. When the first time you ever had to raise your voice higher than normal and you notice two things:
    • Your voice actually sounds and feels serious and stern. I’ve been trying to find that for weeks!
    • Your voice carries extremely well in an almost-empty stairway while bringing your students back from lunch. If only I can carry Math lessons in the stairway…
  3. Your lesson goes well and your students actually get it. I have been struggling with trying to teach my students on how to use the number 100 grid to solve problems since yesterday. I taught the lesson, but even with my co-teacher’s help, my kids could. not. focus. She suggested I try again, which required me to jump ahead of the curriculum by one day.

    I started today reviewing the same lesson as the day before. The kids seem to slightly get it more, but not as much. I was pushing but I was getting nothing back. I looked up at my co-teacher wishing she would give me a figurative life-preserver. That came in the form of period 7 gym. However, as some of you should know, add period 8 (my last period) with a mix of kids coming straight from gym. That should have been a recipe for disaster… except today.

    The kids were respectful. Scary respectful. My co-teacher was pushing our point system for each group, so all the kids were on their best behavior. However, I felt there was something else. Maybe they got all their antsy-ness out in gym. Maybe they pieced together all the numbers at gym. Maybe it was divine intervention. No matter what it was, it was amazing to see most of the class actually get what I’m talking about. I was rejuvenated for the rest of the day. Frankly? It was awesome. Indeed.

  4. When you read two of your students’ reading assignments on their heroes and you see yours and your co-teacher’s names on them… as their heroes.

I live for those moments.

I’ll leave you with my co-teacher’s Donor’s Choose proposal. If you have any type of funds, it would be amazing to have these puzzles for our students to work with. Just like Sudoku and Tetris helps our minds, ESL puzzles can do the same for our kids. If you have a dollar or two, why not help us out? http://www.donorschoose.org/donors/proposal.html?id=287660

Blessings.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

